honeymoon day 17.2, yoohoo! have you had your ouzo today?

day 17.2

After we finished exploring the Acropolis area, we sat down for refueling.

sitting al-fresco with the sun on our faces

I told myself I gotta try Ouzo while I was there. I know I won’t like it, but I still wanna try it under the Greek sun, eating Greek food together with bushyhead. Unfortunately, bushyhead will have nothing to do with it. I looked at the menu, looked at the waiter and told him I wanted a Ouzo and which one should I try. He looked surprised and amused. I was surprised and amused by his reaction. He made his recommendation and set down this bottle of Ouzo with a cute girl in a mini skirt on its label who seemed to beckon, go on, even girls drink Ouzo! Just look at me!

So why that face on that waiter?

I poured a two-finger height of Ouzo into my glass, smelled it, and got turned off by that strong ‘thinner’ smell that reminded me of a cross between Indian food and Korean Soju. I took a sip.

Ok, I’m awake!

The fluid reeks of Licorice, which i hate, the second it was in my mouth. It went on to burn my throat and esophagus as it made its way to my stomach – Now I know exactly how long it takes for liquid to travel down to my stomach.

I look at that huge ice bucket that came along with the bottle and came to a quick conclusion that a drink this strong and pungent should probably be diluted with lots of ice. That’s what I did and as soon as the ice hits the clear liquid, it turns cloudy. Magic! Either that or I had reached my year’s quota of alcohol with that one sip. I took another sip, bigger one, confident that the ice will have make the drink a little more welcoming. It didn’t. The licorice tasted stronger than ever and I was left worrying for my stomach.

The plus point is, I’m sure it dissolved all that fatty lamb I had for my lunch!

As I left the restaurant with that almost full bottle of Ouzo, I felt ashamed. Normally I wouldn’t have wasted it, if it had been any other beverage I paid good dollars for in a restaurant, but I was so sure that I wouldn’t have wanted to drink it ever again, at least not in the duration of the rest of our time in Greece! I left with my head low thinking the waiter must be telling everybody in Greek, see I told her so! pff! Tourist!

children hugging their accordian in the street asking for money when they should be in school or home playing as kids.

We went back to the famed Stavros Melissinos to make ourseves some customised shoes

son of the poet, he is quite a character himself! he completely charmed us with his honesty, friendliness and perfect american accent. those sandals at the foreground, I have them now!!

bushyhead having his sandals made

I wish we have this in Singapore, recycling made easy for every possible object nicely sorted out

it took us forever to find this funicular station. it doesn't seem that complicating and far from the map, but it is.

the frequency of the Lycabetus hill funicular wasn't that regular in January, so we have a cuppa coffee at the coffeehouse opposite the station and prayed hard that the sun wouldn't set on us

inside the tunnel

inside the cosy cabin

just in time!

chapel of Agios Georgios

folding ceremony at sunset, notice the reflection of the orange sunset on the chapel's door? Imagine saluting in the direction of your country's flag with such a spectacular view of the city in the sunset every evening. he must be a very proud soldier

spectacular 360 view.

this was taken at the same time! in front of us we got the sun setting into the waters and behind us, the moon was rising from the mountains into the open sky. and then we got views of the city and the Acropolis hill all in one place. Incredible!

my attempt to make a panoramic picture of Piraeus and the Saronic Gulf.

soon, the moon was all that was left from the twilight hours

Β 

arriving at the hip Gazi area for dinner and drinks. Unfortunately, as was our honeymoon luck, the rooftop bar I wanted to go to, was closed on that day.

we settled for cheap greek fast food instead!

kebap! with yummy yogurt and fries on-the-go!

the nescafe frappe that the greeks love so much. it is like nothing I ever taste before really with that different layers of frothiness maintaining that way till the very last drop

my preferred choice of dessert

Β Follow all the days of our honeymoon!Β  day 1 & 2 (Frankfurt), day 3 (Frankfurt & Switzerland), day 4 (Switzerland), day 5 (Switzerland), day 6 (Milan), day 7 (Padua & Venice), day 8 (Venice), day 9 (Venice & Florence), day 10 (Florence), day 11 & 12 (Florence), day 13 (Rome), day 14 (Rome), day 15 (Rome) , day 16 (Athens), day 17.1 (Athens)

bloglovin

6 thoughts on “honeymoon day 17.2, yoohoo! have you had your ouzo today?

  1. Oh my gosh! What an incredible experience you and your husband are having together! A trip to Greece is on my life to-do list. And I wouldn’t worry about not liking the Ouzo; I think the important part was trying it! A toast to love because you two couldn’t be any cuter!

  2. I love the sunset photos! Oh my! So beautiful and breath-taking! Your days are explained in so much detail that I already feel as though I know Greece quite a bit now. πŸ˜‰

    Hope all’s well with you lovely. Wishing you all the luck you need for your personal projects too. πŸ™‚ x

  3. Pingback: day 18, dreams are made of these, part 1 |

Leave a comment