bridal gloves for sale!

Happily ever after begins here... behind lots of aircon units and in a pair of GLOVES!

I guess I’m the impulsive type. I get this idea in my head and almost immediately I want to have it in my hands, or over my hands literally in this case. I had wanted to have those long over-the-elbows opera gloves together with my dress, you know, something like this…

… when even eating a take-away croissant looks glamorous? Realistically speaking, I knew I wouldn’t look like that when first of all, my flabby arms will just look like a blob of jelly with a pair of opera gloves eating away that much length off my arms. But that doesn’t stop me from getting one anyways! And so I got these.

I had gotten this pair of gorgeous gloves from Etsy. According to the seller (whom is the best, by the way), this is a pair of vintage gloves which has never been worn yet and therefore is in its original packaging. Comes with 3 pearls attached at each wrist, which I absolutely love. The colour is a luscious cream. Package says made in USA and fits all size, I must have very fat arms and fingers because I just couldn’t get them in! I decided that measuring the gloves is not a very good and accurate way of telling the size, but it’s the best way I could think of.

Diameter (laid flat)

– at the opening: 4.5 inches

– across the palm at the base of the fingers: 2.5 inches

– across the wrist: 2.75 inches

Length of finger (middle): 2.75 inches

Length of gloves: 22.5 inches measured from tip of middle finger to end. It’s an opera glove so it goes all the way past the elbows like the one Audrey Hepburn has on.

I would say this fits a size S.

Following the distress of discovering my hands are bigger than an American-sized “fits-all” sizing, I went ahead and got another from a local shop.

This one is pure white and fits beautifully, alas, when I make another visit to my seamstress, I discover the colour is way off. I actually got a swab of the fabric sample before, why the hell didn’t I compare it with the gloves before I make the purchase? Anyways, learn from my lesson and carry as much fabric samples and/or your inspiration scrapbook whenever and wherever you’re doing your bridal shopping.

This pair of gloves is just perfect for our local climate because the material is light and cooling. It’s made of a stretchy satiny material and ends just before the elbows. It is also perfect for adding additional personal details such as lace, pearls or cute little bows.

Diameter (laid flat)

– at the opening: 4 inches

– across the palm at the base of the fingers: 3.5 inches

– across the wrist: 3.5 inches

Length of finger (middle): 3 inches

Length of gloves: close to 16 inches.

Like the one above, this one has never been worn before, except when I opened it to try them on. Condition is excellent. I still feel a pang of heartache when I see these pairs of beautiful gloves just lying around without a proper owner to show them off, so I’m selling them off at a fraction of the price I got them for. Both of them are going for just US$9 each, excluding shipping. Please drop me a comment if you’re interested, stating if you’d like the cream or white one and I’ll try to get back to you as soon as possible!

Lastly, may I bring your attention back to my photo at the top of this post. Notice the hair fascinator? I’m thinking of making a simple tutorial of how I made that, along with the birdcage veil I had. Tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

