… and I’m Off the shelf!

First and foremost, let me start by telling how I came to be engaged. My best friend of close to 10 years now, became my boyfriend 3 years ago. In these 3 years, I made him to like traveling (with me), unwittingly introduced him to food that he should had tried long time ago and witnessed his transformation from a satay-stick to a huggable body-warmer. He prefers his upgrade to be named as a sugarcane. I’m going to deny all accusation and presumption that I caused his weight gain, since I only step into the kitchen for the refrigerator, and i did BAN him from roti pratas and chunky pork lards once he turns 30.

One day on 9th Jan 2010, he proposed to me in a Starbucks in Tokyo.

notice the sleeping man at the corner? I purposely left him there because I find it hilarous and grateful at the same time that the Tokyoites are so nonchalent when Stefan knelt down with a hard-to-say-no-to proposal ring for a lenghty (undisclosed) mins.

There is a story of how he got the ring, and why, you may wonder, Starbucks?! But that’s another story, for another time, and fingers crossed, to be told by someone else.

I have never pictured a dream wedding and I’m an idiot when it comes to the traditional wedding traditions. All I know is that I hate the usual rituals and dread going through with some of the Chinese wedding rituals. There will be no banquets, no yum-sengs and absolutely no Bublé. In short, I hadNO idea what I want.

Luckily for me, Stefan didn’t care for any of that either! But does it help he cares just a little lesser than me?

After some deliberations, I knew what I want for my wedding – I want it small, intimate, fun, surrounded with all my best friends and equally importantly, be eco-friendly. Being a wee bit crafty, I have huge ambitions to make my own versions of the usual wedding pretties. I figured that I can cut cost, make sure nothing goes to waste and have fun with my own creations. I understand that weddings are extravagant and quite impossible to go all-Green, but I’m trying my best. And so I thought, since I’m going to drive myself bridenutty making that loads of stuff with an impending deadline, I might as well document the funnies and the process.

I hope you will have more fun with this! I’d love the occasional encouragement and buckets of love, so. give me a hearty pat if you think I’m doing good and some good sound advise if you think I’m going off the track!

xoxo

6 thoughts on “… and I’m Off the shelf!

  1. Hey girl, good job on the website. Loving every line, picture posted here. And the proposal picture your fren captured was good,the picture shows an impending “YES”.

Leave a Reply

