wedding day pictures – the traditional tea ceremony

Part 3 of our wedding day picture!

wedding day pictures – the preparation

wedding day pictures – the gatecrash

I’m gonna start where my last picture left off.

here's a decent shot of my hair from the back! Specially created by MUA Gin Tan when I told her about our 50s theme. Hairstylist Max also did a excellent job with Stefan's hair recreating he look from that era!

my house husband! nope, that's not a kilt, it's an apron!

nice picture of stefan's dad!

my mum looks like she's stealing the oranges..

showing me the message on his nails, at this point i didn't know that was the best one yet, if you have been reading previous posts and know what i mean.....

that's how men show off their manicured nails, instead of lengthening the overall effects, they chose to look short and stubby

I just couldn't resist that, i thought he was incredibly cute and dashing with that hair.. probably it was all that glitters

ma-ma approves of his grandson's appropriate hair

even my mum was fascinated

she seems very pleased with it as well!

notice tha more grown-up" version of the pinwheel corsage I made for her on her wrist ( the one with the pearls) and also the cuter ones I made for the girls shown at the corner of that previous picture before this?

the tea ceremony proper. it was a simple affair with only stefan's grandma, his dad and my mum

back in the early days of planning, we weren't even gonna have this tea ceremony in because we wanted just a simple wedding but we realised it's only proper and respectful for the people who have raised us up

... and I'm glad we have it, not because of the extra jewelery i get nor the funny tea set I get to use, but because utimately, as much as a wedding is between a couple, it is also the joining of two families and the families' bearing witness to their children starting a new one of their own

I love this moment between father, his son and God

stefan was instigating that I call his dad "luo-ye" in cantonese from then on, loosely translated as "old master of the house)"

in case you're wondering, the tea is a special 'blend' my mum brought that involves dried longans and other auspicious ingredients that chinese used to represent certain blessings for the couple

with my 2 brothers

with my new family

with my lovely girls - some of the closest people in my life and the best anybody could be blessed with

the guys

That marks the last picture I have of the first part of the morning at the hotel! Next in line, happily ever after…

Please come back again for more pictures at our solemnization ceremony!

*all pictures by Jan

For updates, bloglovin
8 thoughts on “wedding day pictures – the traditional tea ceremony

  1. Pingback: wedding day pictures – the gatecrash «

  2. Pingback: wedding day pictures – the solemnization «

  3. Pingback: our wedding day pictures – night shots «

  4. Pingback: how i made my own hair fascinator and birdcage veil «

Leave a Reply

