getting crafty with my confetti

And I will make them and the places round about my hill a blessing; and I will cause the shower to come down in his season; there shall be showers of blessing.

{ Ezekiel 34:26 }


Watch out for these little darlings when you’re at our wedding! I got these soapy bubble bottles at Spotlight some time ago, found these nifty designs at Eat Drink Chic (available for downloads at oncewed), personalised and printed them on photo paper stickers.

In case you are wondering, these bubbles are replacing confetti, something which I regard as a festive tradition but also something potentially unfriendly to the environment which is often overlooked. Paper confetti for one, is really litter-tossing. Those papers don’t pick up after themselves after their one moment of glory. It is sad to know that they ‘lived’ for that short-lived glory and ended up as trash the next minute.

Rice is also used traditionally as confetti to symbolize the blessing of fertility of prosperity from the guests to the couple. I believe rice is a commodity, a fundamental one at that, and should end up on the dining table instead of on the floor. Remember how Granny always say people in Africa has no food? Well, people in A LOT of places have no promise of another meal. On top of everything, I think the danger of rice ending up in someone’s eye is there, so like the loveseeds that I have also considered using, I have to have another alternative otherwise I’ll just be putting the both of us in a whole lot of pain.

Flower petals are great and biodegradable, but they will have to stay fresh. I can’t say they will stay pretty in our climate and our sweaty palms in the absence of air-conditioning. On the other hand, some really great options include dried flowers and eco-friendly confetti which can easily be found in town or online. Here are some that I think are amazing:

from Beaucoup

These come in a variety of colours and are both water soluble and biodegradable, which means, to dissolve them, all you need is water or just let nature do her work and you don’t even harm a single shard of grass. And what do you know, they smell good too!

Dove Rice Paper Confetti from Save on Crafts

Back to bubbles, the only drawback to using them is that the soap may stain clothes. However, the way I see it, I don’t expect to fight my way out of a bubble maze ( I only have 4 bottles), some soapy bubbles won’t do much damage! I’m keeping my fingers crossed on that one, but even if they do, it’s all in good fun, nothing a good soak won’t solve! Just remember: Soap and eyes don’t mix!

3 thoughts on “getting crafty with my confetti

  1. I found your blog through a random search, but I wanted to say I love your bubbles! I just purchased some little bubble containers for my wedding and was trying to think of how to personalize them and I love the photo paper stickers, such a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: d.i.y. crochet coasters tutorial «

Leave a Reply

