p.s. i love u

my bb has turned 29 and we spent the day lounging at P.S. Cafe (2 of them for that matter!) and made an impromptu reservation at KRISH for their one-day-only Californian Wine Dinner.

It was my fault. I tried planning, but nothing seems good enough. I told bb that it’s because 29 is a lesser important age than 30 and that there is no way that I can top what he did for me.

After some brief unsuccessful attempts at shopping and my failed intervention to get him to not buy any mooncakes for my mum, we ended up at P.S. Cafe number 2 for the day. He got tons of phonecalls to answer, all day… everyday. So I got bored and cam-whored.

Dinner was a quiet affair, and I didn’t like it! Both of us agreed that it was a good thing when a bunch of happy people came and sat at the table behind us. No more whispering!

Here’s a review at what we had:

1st Course
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake – Sweet Corn, Basil Aioli, Marinated Tomatoes
BUEHLER VINEYARDS, Russian River Chardonnay 2008
Napa Valley

2nd Course
36-Hour Braised Pork Belly – Cheddar Cheese Grits, Apple Chutney, Pork Jus
BUEHLER VINEYARDS, Zinfandel 2008
Napa Valley

3rd Course
Seared NY Strip Steak – Truffled Lentils, Wild Mushrooms, Spiced Veal Demi-Glace
BUEHLER VINEYARDS, Cabernet Sauvignon 2006
Napa Valley

4th Course
Warm Blueberry Pie – Spiced Summer Blueberries, Vanilla Kulfi, Sable
BUEHLER VINEYARDS, California White Zinfandel 2008
Napa Valley

This whole post look like a foodblog, but I’m not a foodblogger so I won’t go into details of how each distinct flavour burst its way through every bite or how the apple chutney complements the pork – though they are so true. But I will mention how delighted I was with the wine and how I was able to indulge a little bit more with my favourite wine than the others offered.

You will see that I love taking pictures of my food just because they look splendid at the opportune moment when my hunger pangs are the loudest. I realised I did not get a picture of bb’s dessert when it arrived with a candle stuck on it, I still don’t understand why.

I will try harder next year, bb.

2 thoughts on “p.s. i love u

Leave a Reply

